## MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING RED RIVER RETENTION AUTHORITY CASS COUNTY HIGHWAY DEPARTMENT WEST FARGO, NORTH DAKOTA NOVEMBER 22, 2016

The Red River Retention Authority (RRRA) met November 22, 2016, at 11:00 a.m. at the Cass County Highway Department, West Fargo, North Dakota.

Present were John Finney, Jerome Deal, Rodger Olson, Greg Holmvik and Ben Varnson, Board members; Pat Fridgen and Jeff Lewis, non-voting members; Carol Harbeke Lewis, Secretary-Treasurer; Keith Weston, Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS); Randy Gjestvang, North Dakota State Water Commission; Lance Yohe, Red River Joint Water Resource District (RRJWRD); Bruce D. Anderson, Barnes County Water Resource District; Naomi Goral, Red River Watershed Management Board (RRWMB) Administrator; Chuck Fritz and Jay Leitch, International Water Institute (IWI). Patsy Crooke, Corps of Engineers, participated by telephone. Gary Thompson, Board member, was absent.

John Finney called the meeting to order.

### NRCS / Regional Conservation Partnership Program (RCPP)

Jay Leitch and Chuck Fritz presented information relating to benefit-cost analysis on alternatives resulting from the ongoing watershed studies under the RCPP. The benefit of coordinating information to avoid duplication of efforts, develop consistency and saving cost was discussed.

#### Minutes

It was moved by Rodger Olson, seconded by Greg Holmvik and unanimously carried to approve the minutes of the September 13, 2016, meeting.

### Financial report

The Board reviewed the Financial Report presented by the Secretary-Treasurer.

#### Bills

It was moved by Greg Holmvik and seconded by Ben Varnson to approve the payment of Checks #1442 through #1445, as presented. Upon roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously.

## **Executive Director position**

John Finney reviewed duties, work load, time requirement and funding for the vacant RRRA Executive Director position, as outlined at the Office Administration Committee meeting held earlier today. The Board directed the Secretary-Treasurer to advertise the Executive Director position during late December 2016 / early January 2017.

# <u>Adjournment</u>

There being no further business to be considered by the Board, it was moved by Ben Varnson, seconded by Greg Holmvik and unanimously carried to adjourn the meeting.

APPROVED:		
Gary Thompson Co-Chair	John Finney Co-Chair	
ATTEST:		
Carol Harbeke Lewis Secretary-Treasurer		